Sunny With Slight Breeze

The End of a 10-Year-Old Series

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

The grand finale to the series, Harry Potter will be remembered by many

Yeah. I have the Harry Potter fever too. I can’t help it. I have began reading the series when I was in third grade (oh, the old year of 2005) after the much nagging of my older brother (who was seventh grade at that time), telling me,

“You have to read this at least once.

Once? I ended up reading each book over ten times at least.

When I first had Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in my hands, I actually didn’t like it. It didn’t really capture my mind. This could be due to the fact that I saw the movie(s) first (curse meee!) and then the book. So I was actually not a Harry Potter fan right away. Alas, three days later, I just sat on my bed, skipped lunch and dinner, and finished the book.

I fell in love.

The Harry Potter series is the first “official” book series that I have officially been hooked too. Sure, there was the Magic Tree House and Junie B. Jones series but those did not count as books for me. I never really got hooked to them either. There are also three books that feature our lovely Robert Langdon written by Dan Brown but I am not really sure if it counts as a series (does it?) Robert Langdon introduced me to the amazing world of myths and symbolism but Harry Potter? This series changed my life (along with gazillions of other fellow fans.)

I cannot say that I am one of those 1% fans who buy tickets for the premiere (I’m too sleepy to fully enjoy the movie. Coffee will stunt my already-dead-growth-spurt), remember every spell said in the book, and draw a lightening bolt on my forehead. I am one of the quiet fans who buy the books (although, my brother already bought the books before me), read them over, watch the movies, and just purely enjoy the series.

I had realizes with the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 that this series has been along with

Math

I am sorry Math but you will never win against Harry Potter

me throughout my life (my short 15 years of life so far, that is.) Whenever homework drove me crazy (cough cough math cough cough), I would grab one of the books from the series and begin to read. Numbers will soon disappear and when my Mom asked me if I finished my homework, I would blank out and just stare at her. Sadly, this meant that I had to finish my homework at school since I conveniently “forgot” about it until next day. So every morning, I found myself in the school library, frantically writing. Sorry about that, previous math teachers. Numbers never were on my friendly side, you see.

There were some disappointing moments in the series (why did you have to kill Lupin and Tonks, Rowling? And why Sirius?!) but every book has flaws. What makes a book great is if the reader can feel happy when the characters are happy, mad with the enemies, sad when people die (Sirius *sob*.) I felt pure disgust when Dolores Umbridge appeared in the books (perhaps that is why Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is the least read book in the series.) I felt an ache from my heart when Dumbledore died and sympathy for Snape. This series made me feel every emotion written in this world and that is why I adore it. In a sense, the Twilight series is a.. uh.. decent series in the series taught me that it is possible to hate every character in the book.

I grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermione. As I became older, so did the actors.

They became the kids who took on adventures instead of me, their tales so enchanting. Their enemies so menacing. One could say that they were my hero (until Batman came in, that is.) The end of the series is here with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 but I the series will stay deep in my heart forever. Perhaps even my children will read and become engrossed with the series.

So, the series is at its end. But I know that in my mind and every other fan/lovers/obsessed people/people who just plain loved the books; this series will never end. Now, leave me be! I have to buy my ticket and watch this movie!

This entry was published on July 14, 2011 at 11:47 PM. It’s filed under Childhood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

