Sunny With Slight Breeze

So. Many. Movies

To watch this year. I don’t know about you people but I really love movies. They create another world for audiences to immerse themselves in, the plot slowly winding before them. People can forget about their work or homework or social problems and just enjoy themselves.

To be honest, I can’t remember much about the movies this summer. Except for X-Men: First Class I guess. Although, I didn’t have much time to watch movies in the first place but still, Transformers 3 was just so disappointing.  So yes, I am very hyped for the movies that will come out near the end of the year. And some of them I want to watch, others I watch for the actors, and some, just for the sake of hating it. So this is my personal list of the movies to watch.

October

1. The Ides of March – October 7th, 2011
I love these types of movies: politics, twists, dirty politics. Conflicts are seen in the trailer. Revenge, fame, money. It helps that George Clooney is acting a newbie president candidate (I can imagine him in this role for some reason). Although, he’s also the one that is directing and co-wrote the screenplay which could be both bad and good.

2. The Three Musketeers – October 21, 2011
Just because it’s the Three Musketeers, one of my all-time favorite books.  And Orlando Bloom. The trailer seems to go pretty off from the book. I hope they keep some of the plots alive.

3. The Rum Diary – October 28, 2011
I loved the book. It was funny. It was interesting. It was amazing. I need to buy that book so that I can read it again. It’s nice to see Johnny Depp go away from his pirate sides (they are dragging the movie) and see him in the role of some odd characters.  It’s either a hit or a miss with this movie: if they stray too far from the book, fans aren’t going to be happy (or maybe they will).

November 

1. Puss in Boots – November 4, 2011
Who can hate this pussy cat? DreamWorks have disappointed me with their Shrek films so far but I still do love them. I hope this movie is something that will be remembered as one of the best animated movies of 2011. Meow.

2. Immortals – November 11, 2011
Greek tales in action. From the producers of 300, I’m sure that even if the film lacks in the plot, it’ll have some great action scenes to keep the people. We all need to watch one of these movies every once in a while. And Mickey Rourke is the antagonist of the story so we can expect some bad-ass acting here.

3. J. Edgar – November 9, 2011
I won’t lie, this is probably the film I want to watch the most, besides Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. The secrets of J. Edgar Hoover and his life, the building of the foundation that will support the FBI. I’m a huge fan of  Leonardo Dicaprio and Clint Eastwood is directing this movie. It’s a double-win for me and the trailer seems fantastic. The movie shows the change of a person as they slowly age and the world leaves them behind.

December

1. We Need to Talk About Kevin – December 2, 2011
This movie was already released in other countries and it’s going to be a limited release in the States but I really want to watch this, even though I probably won’t be able to watch it since I live in Korea (where everything is released late, except the last Harry Potter movie.) A chilling movie based off of the novel by Lionel Shriver, one of my favorite actresses Tilda Swinton is taking on the role of the mother of a teenage boy who went on a killing spree in a high-school. The trailer sent shivers all over my body.

2. Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows – December 16,2011
I loved the first movie. I loved the book series. So I will be disappointed if the movie is horrible so deep inside, I’m praying that the movie is good and will satisfy my hunger. And this is all I’m going to write for the movie that’s in my top two that I wish to watch.

3. We Bought a Zoo – December 23, 2011
Seems to be a heartwarming story about a family. May seem typical and even if it is, we need these movies to warm our hearts from the cold and tiring society. Matt Damon and Scarlette Johansson acting side-by-side, a process of a father trying to get closer to his teenager son. I love these movies, even if they can be predictable.

4. War Horse – December 25, 2011
I watched the play when I went to London with my school last year. It. was. Amazing. It wasn’t a traditional style of play but they used horses made of (what was it) bamboo and people were inside or outside controlling the horses. It’s impossible to describe it and you won’t know the feeling unless you have watched the play. It was breathtaking.  I’m hoping the movie is able to show the bond between Albert (the main character) and Joey (the horse) that the play showed me. This is going to be a beautiful film.

This entry was published on October 1, 2011 at 12:24 PM. It’s filed under Opinion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

